Chicago : COVID-19 travel restrictions take effect – .

This Friday new restrictions come into effect for travelers who use Chicago airports and also for those who want to visit some states in the country.

Starting Friday night, access to the O’Hare and Midway airport terminals will be limited only to passengers who have an air travel ticket and airport employees, the Chicago Aviation Department said in a statement.

The agency said they will establish checkpoints at CTA train stops where travelers must show officials proof that they will fly that day, and airport employees must show their credentials or identification.

According to the agency, the new protocols are one more step to ensure the safety of everyone who uses airport services during the coronavirus pandemic.

There are currently no plans to establish checkpoints during the day, but the Aviation Department said security officials or police can still request to see travelers’ credentials at any time.

In addition, this Friday, travel restrictions to four states take effect throughout Chicago, namely Wisconsin, Missouri, Nebraska and North Dakota, due to the recent increase in cases of coronavirus in those points.

As if the recommendation for those who come to Chicago from those states, or return to the city after a visit in those areas, is that they spend a quarantine of two weeks being in Chicago, this in order to prevent more cases of contagion of the coronavirus.

The restriction for travelers in Chicago for now includes the states of: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin, Iowa, Oklahoma , Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and North Dakota.

Beginning Friday, July 31, visitors from the states of: Wisconsin, Missouri, North Dakota and Nebraska will have to be quarantined for 14 days if traveling to Chicago either by air or road.