Chicago : Trump approves Texas emergency declaration for Hurricane Hanna – .

President Donald Trump approved this Sunday the emergency declaration for the state of Texas due to the passage of Hurricane Hanna, which will allocate federal assistance to support state and local authorities.

The measure authorizes the Department of Homeland Security and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to coordinate relief efforts to contain the emergency in Aransas, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brooks, Calhoun, Cameron, Dimmit, Duval counties. , Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Harris, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, La Salle, Live Oak, Matagorda, McMullen, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Starr, Victoria, Webb, Wharton, Willacy , and Zapata.

With authorization, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion the equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency.

Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance and reimbursement of mass care, including evacuation and shelter support, will be provided with 75% federal funding.

At about 5:00 p.m. Central Time on Saturday, Hanna’s eye touched down as it passed through the Padre Island area about 15 miles north of Port Mansfield.

The system eye made landfall a second time around 6:15 p.m. Central Time in eastern Kenedy County, located about 15 miles north-northwest of Port Mansfield, Texas.

A family in Edinburg lost the roof of their home in the midst of Hurricane Hanna.

Hanna had at that time sustained maximum winds of 75 miles for now, with stronger wind gusts.

Pete Gaynor, FEMA Administrator, appointed Jerry S. Thomas as the Federal Coordinator for federal recovery operations in affected areas.