Follow these steps to factory clean or restore a Mac

apple computer could be experimenting. If you’ve noticed that she’s feeling slower than usual, it’s probably time to take action and start from scratch. Factory resetting a Mac is not complicated. But first, pay attention: how will you erase all your data, documents, photographs and Applications, first we suggest you do the necessary backups. “data-reactid =” 12 “> If you are thinking of selling (or giving away) your Mac, it is best to restore it to its factory settings, on the other hand, this can help you correct a series of technical problems that you Apple computer could be experimenting. If you’ve noticed that it feels slower than usual, it’s probably time to take action and start from scratch. Factory reset a Mac is not complicated. But first, pay attention: how you will erase them all your data, documents, photographs and applications, first we suggest you make the necessary backups.

eBay or Craigslist. After all, no buyer will want a computer with a hard drive full of someone else’s data. “Data-reactid =” 29 “> Generally,“ delete everything ”is a cause for concern, but there is Situations where restoring your laptop is necessary. Most commonly, you want to sell it, using a service like eBay or Craigslist. After all, no buyer will want a computer with a hard drive full of someone else’s data.

Part of the process includes disavowing your computer in iTunes, which will remove any custom login information. However, you should also factory reset a Mac if you plan on gifting it to someone else. It’s something that doesn’t take long, and here we explain how to do it step by step.

Erase your Mac

The process of erasing your Mac’s drive could take some time. When you’re done, close Disk Utility to return to the macOS Utilities window.

Reinstall the operating system

Once you’ve erased everything that made your Mac special, cleaning your system is only half the way back to factory settings.

Reinstall your macOS current. Select the reinstall option, confirm that you really want to, and continue. You may need to click a few confirmations before the installation is ready to begin. “Data-reactid =” 59 “> Once you are done with Disk Utility, you should see an option to Reinstall your current macOS Select the reinstall option, confirm that you really want to do it, and continue. You may need to click a few confirmations before the installation is ready to begin.

Since Apple stores your Mac’s factory settings on its servers, your computer requires an internet connection in order to retrieve new settings outside of the assembly line.

macOS. It shouldn’t be a problem with most current Mac computers, as long as you’re running newer operating systems.“data-reactid =” 70 “>Note: This online download solution only works for the latest versions of macOS. It shouldn’t be a problem with most current Mac computers, as long as you’re running newer operating systems.

However, if you are working with Snow Leopard (10.6) or earlier, you cannot reinstall this configuration from the web. Instead, you will need the original MacOS installation disc that came with your computer.

Also, when you reinstall MacOS, a setup wizard asks you basic questions about your region, among others.

Alternative

If cleaning your Mac is not what you are looking for, you can also completely reinstall macOS without erasing any data. It is the “lite” version of a full erase, since you do not need to remove the disk, if you just want a clean installation.

This option is useful if you have corrupted data, malware that you cannot isolate, or problems stemming from a faulty update. However, this process can leave data that would be relatively easy to recover, so it is not a good idea if you are selling or giving away your Mac.

If it is the method you are looking for, follow the steps below. As always, be sure to make a backup copy of the data and documents you want to keep.

Another alternative: Time Machine

Disable Apple Music, iCloud, and iMessage

If you are selling or giving away your Mac, be sure to remove the permissions from your Mac and any connected devices before restoring the original factory settings. This helps prevent anyone from accessing your personal information in the future.

Apple Music

Apple Music Screenshot

More

Apple Music will remove that particular device from your list of authorized devices. You won’t be able to access any of your Apple Music content from this machine anymore, but no one else will either.

iCloud

ICloud screenshot

Plus

Logging out of iCloud is not enough; you should also make sure that no local data remains on your computer.

iMessage

If you want to keep your messages private, you must log out of the Mac iMessage application. This program syncs messages between your iPhone and Mac, so disavowing it is very important. Luckily, it is easy to do.

how to back up to external drive. “data-reactid =” 149 “>Remember– Backing up your data is always a good idea, especially before a major move like this. Here we explain how to make a backup to an external drive.


Categories CVBJ – Financial
Post navigation