The Official State Gazette (BOE) has published this Saturday the authorization agreement of the fifth extension of the alarm status, in which the Minister of Health, Salvador Illa, becomes the sole delegated competent authority in the coronavirus crisis under the supervision of the Prime Minister, Pedro Sánchez, and in accordance with the principle of collaboration with the autonomous communities.

One of the novelties of this extension is that the Minister of Defense, Margarita Robles; the Minister of the Interior, Fernando Grande-Marlaska, and the Minister of Transport, Mobility and the Urban Agenda, José Luis Ábalos, cease to be delegated competent authorities. From tomorrow until June 7, only Illa will be under “the highest leadership of the Prime Minister and in accordance with the principle of cooperation with the autonomous communities.”

In addition, in this new extension of the alarm state the CCAA will have more weight in the decisions of the management of the desescalada in phases with which the path towards the so-called new normality is being addressed.

Initially, the Government tried to obtain the necessary support to extend the state of alarm for a month, with the intention that it would be the last expansion of that state. But the need to reach parliamentary agreements with other formations to obtain the required authorization from Congress made I had to finally limit it to 15 days.

However, now the possibility is considered that the territories that reach the so-called new normality may abandon the restrictions of the state of alarm.

“The overcoming of all the phases foreseen in the plan for the de-escalation of the extraordinary measures adopted to face the Covid-19 pandemic, approved by the Council of Ministers at its meeting of April 28, 2020, will determine that they remain without effect the measures derived from the declaration of the state of alarm in the corresponding provinces, islands or territorial units ”, is indicated in the BOE. While, for June 7 – complying with all the theoretical deadlines set by the Executive – no territory will be in this possibility.

On the day that said extension ends, on June 7, the islands of La Gomera, El Hierro, La Graciosa and Formentera – the most advanced – will take a week in phase 3, while the rest of the country will continue in phase 1 or 2 .