More than 60% of Netflix users share their account. However, this is not an impediment for the company to move forward in its attempt to eliminate this practice once and for all. In the frequently asked questions area of its service, the company details what is the new practice it has in mind to block shared accounts, reports FlatpanelsHD.
There are few exceptions that you will find once this practice becomes a reality. One of them is that, obviously, you can share a Netflix account as long as you share a home with the owner of it.
How will the company ensure compliance? To do this, it will force you to play content at least once every 31 days, and the device where you do so must be connected to the same Wi-Fi network as the main account.
In addition, Netflix will keep a record of the IP addresses from which you access its service. In this way, it will check if all the accounts match under the same addresses. If there are notable differences during the previously described time, your access will be blocked.
Netflix makes it increasingly difficult to share your account
Of course, this won’t affect you if you spend little time away from home. But is there a way to cheat if you don’t live with the owner? At the moment, it seems that the only option is to go to this person’s home, connect to their Wi-Fi network at least once a month and open the Netflix app. A bit forced or impossible for those who live long distances.
Fortunately, for those who want to continue using the Netflix service, there is a way to migrate your profile to a new account. Thus, you can continue to have your history intact and continue your series and movies right where you left off.
What happens if you go on a trip for a long time? In this case, you will have to request temporary access codes. With them, you can enter your account for 7 days in a row, although Netflix does not specify if there is a limited number of codes that we can receive.
On the other hand, unlike what has been said in previous statements, Netflix will not charge you more for third-party access to your account. It will simply block them if it detects unusual activity on its service.
All these changes will not arrive yet, yes. Netflix is expected to integrate this new feature into its service at some point in the first quarter of 2023, with March being the most popular month to do so. From this moment on, the rules will be tightened for all users of the popular streaming platform.