New York : Checo Pérez gives victory to Mexico in Formula 1 after 50 years

New York :

The pilot Sergio ‘Checo’ Pérez, winner this Sunday of the Sakhir Grand Prix, in Bahrain, gave Mexico a victory in Formula 1 after 50 years when Pedro Rodríguez won the Belgian Grand Prix in 1970.

It is the first time that Pérez has won in the top category of world motorsport after ten seasons in which he accumulated ten podiums, including their second this year after taking second place in Turkey in November.

Czech, who runs for the team Racing Point, won at Sakhir after starting last on the grid, to beat Frenchman Esteban Ocon, second, and his teammate, Canadian Lance Stroll, third.

See the checkered flag first at the finish given to Pérez just one race from finishing the 2020 Formula 1 season and with his uncertain future in 2021, in which he has the option of taking a sabbatical.

The triumph of ‘Checo’, likewise, It is part of the most outstanding achievements of Mexican sports so far this century.

Other successes have been the Olympic gold medal of the Mexican soccer team in the London 2012 jousts when they beat the Brazilian team they led in the final. Neymar and Hulk, 1-2 with a double by Oribe Peralta.

In this century, Pérez’s country has also achieved two world soccer titles in the sub’17 category, in the tournaments of Peru 2005 and Mexico 2011.

Pachuca won the only title of a Mexican club in the Copa Sudamericana in 2006 by beating Chilean Colo-Colo 3-2.

In boxing, in November 2019 Saúl ‘Canelo’ Álvarez defeated the Russian Sergey Kovalev to snatch the light heavyweight title of the World Boxing Organization (WBO), which meant his fourth belt in different weights: before he won in super welterweight, middleweight and super middleweight.

Andy RuizBorn in the United States, but of Mexican parents, he became the first with the nationality of the country to be proclaimed heavyweight world champion when he defeated Englishman Anthony Joshua in June 2019.

María del Rosario Espinoza and Guillermo Pérez they got gold medals in taekwondo at the 2008 Tokyo Olympics.

And in athletics, Ana Guevara She was world champion in 2003 and jumper Paola Espinosa won Olympic silver in London 2012 and bronze in Beijing 2008, in addition to the world title in the 2009 championships.

It may interest you:

Eternal Lewis Hamilton: The Formula 1 driver no longer surpasses him in won World Cups

Republicans demand that the Pennsylvania Congress revoke the results of the elections in that state

Miami : How to help those affected by hurricanes in Central America – . (51)