New York : Latinos stand out among the 25 greatest players in MLS

New York :

As part of its 25th season celebration, MLS announced the list of the 25 greatest players in history, where some Latinos excel.

A special panel made up of nearly 200 MLS experts was created with the purpose of selecting the 25 most accomplished players on the court, who led the conversation off the court, and who helped create the foundation and set the course for the next 25 years of MLS.

MLS nominated 137 of the most decorated and impressive players in league history. The nominating committee sought to identify players who logreed individual recognitionsthem or championships with their teams, but also the impact they had in drawing attention to the league and empowering it.

Among those elected, who belong to nine nationalities, are the Colombian Carlos Valderrama, the Bolivians Marco Etcheverry and Jaime Moreno, the Argentine Diego Valeri and the Venezuelan Josef Martínez.

El Pibe ‘Valderrama he was the league’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) in 1996 in the MLS and ranks fourth in all-time assists (114), with a record of 26 in a single season (2000) in the Tampa Bay Mutiny jersey.

Etcheverry He won three championships with DC United (1996, 1997 and 1999) and was the 1998 MVP while his compatriot Moreno also participated in those triumphs and added a fourth title in 2004.

Valeri and Martínez, for their part, they are still active. The 34-year-old Argentine won the MLS title and MVP trophy in 2015 with Portland Timbers and the 27-year-old Venezuelan achieved the same double success in 2018 with Atlanta United, also adding the Golden Boot of the championship.

In addition to the five Latin Americans, the English are also counted on the list David Beckham, winner of two championships with the LA Galaxy (2011 and 2012) and today co-owner of Inter Miami, and Bradley Wright-Phillips, Italian Sebastian Giovinco, Irishman Robbie Keane and Canadian Dwayne De Rosario.

The list of the best 25 players in the complete MLS is this:

Jeff Agoos
Kyle beckerman
David beckham
Carlos Bocanegra
Dwayne De Rosario
Clint dempsey
Landon donovan
Marco Etcheverry
Robin fraser
Sebastian giovinco
Kevin Hartman
Cobi jones
Robbie keane
Chad marshall
Josef Martinez
Tony meola
Jaime Moreno
Eddie pope
Steve Ralston
Nick Rhyming
Carlos Valderrama
Diego Valeri
Chris Wondolowski
Bradley Wright-Phillips

The 2020 season of the MLS will culminate on Saturday with the grand finale between the defending champions Seattle Sounders and the Columbus Crew.

It may interest you:

They ignore Mexicans in the MLS ideal 11: Vela, Pizarro and “Chicharito” were left out

could be forced to ditch Instagram and WhatsApp

Spain: two dead in fire in warehouse occupied by migrants