Russia will close all its borders from next day 30, according to a provision by Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin published this Saturday on the website of the Russian Government.

The document, dated March 27, stresses that the measure aims to “prevent the penetration into the territory of the Russian Federation of new coronavirus infection.”

According to the provision, from 00:00 Moscow time on March 30 (21:00 GMT on March 29), circulation will be “temporarily restricted” through land, rail, river, pedestrian and mixed border crossings, including those of the land sector of the Russian-Belarusian border.

The measure does not affect Russian and foreign diplomatic officials, nor does it affect citizens who find it necessary to travel abroad due to the death of a close relative, which they must prove with the corresponding documentation.

It also makes an exception for residents of the Kaliningrad enclave on the shores of the Baltic Sea, as well as inhabitants of the self-proclaimed People’s Republics of Donetsk and Lugansk in eastern Ukraine who have Russian citizenship.

In the last 24 hours in Russia, 228 cases of COVID-19 were diagnosed, bringing the total number of patients to 1,264, including 817 in Moscow.

According to official data offered today, since the first case was registered in the country, four people have died of coronavirus, all of them in Moscow.

Medical sources, cited by the Interfax agency, later indicated that two other people died from COVID-19, one in the capital and the other in the city of Orenburg.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here