USA :The “repechage” for the EBAU of the coronavirus reaches 14 communities

Madrid, Aug 31 . .- Students who have not passed the first call for the tests to enter the University (EBAU / EVAU) next year have a second chance from this Tuesday in fourteen communities that, due to the crisis of the coronavirus, they have delayed this “play-off” from July to September.

The rules against covid such as wearing a mask to the exam and sitting at a distance will again preside over these tests as they did in June and July.

The pandemic and the declaration of the state of alarm forced the communities to delay the tests last year and, unlike other years in which the trend was to do the “repechage” in July so that the students had fresher knowledge and had more of time before going to the university, now it has returned to opt for September.

Again, as happened in the ordinary test, the communities will tend to adapt the examination model to guarantee, as requested by the Ministry of Education, that access to the University occurs in terms of equity and justice for all students, despite having missed face-to-face classes in the last term.

However, this test, formerly known as Selectividad, continues to create controversy as many student voices, and even some political parties such as PP and Ciudadanos, claim that it be homogeneous: on the same days, with the same questions and with the same correction scale for all of Spain, similar to what happens with the MIR exam for doctors.

For the 2020-21 academic year the cut-off marks have been raised (it is the lowest access mark of all students admitted to a degree) to enter many faculties, as criticized by the Student Union, which has considered that this Increase deprives many students of being able to study their chosen career.

For this union, the EBAU / EVAU should not have been held this year because of the academic consequences caused by the coronavirus lockdown.

These are the dates of the extraordinary call of the EBAU 2020 for September:

Andalusia: 14, 15 and 16

Aragon: 9, 10 and 11

Balearic Islands: 8, 9 and 10

Canary Islands: 10, 11 and 12

Cantabria: 8, 9 and 10

Castilla-La Mancha: 1, 2 and 3

Castilla y León: 10, 11 and 12

Catalonia: 21, 22 and 25

Extremadura: 1, 2 and 3

Galicia: 15, 16 and 17

Madrid: 8, 9 and 10

Murcia: 9, 10 and 11

Valencian Community: 8, 9 and 10

La Rioja: 2, 3 and 4.